Customer reviews for Gravely WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)

Gravely WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)

When it's time to mow, get after it like a pro with this superbly engineered powerhouse. So simple to operate, so easy to maneuver, so right on the money, this is one outstanding machine that is well worth a closer look.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5
10
4
6
3
5
2
2
1
3
18 out of 26(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Review 1 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my large, sloping lot

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
David
Location: Oak Ridge, TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a 3/4-acre lot, with many very steep slopes. I bought this mower because I was sure I wouldn't be safe on a riding mower, and am very glad indeed that I did. It has cut mowing time by a factor of three; what used to take whole afternoon is now over in an hour and a half. Strong, durable, and great on my steep lawn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Regrettable purchase

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Newburyport, MA
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i bought my Gravely WAW 34" mower with the bag catcher in May 2012. I was able to cut my lawn of average size twice before it spent three weeks in service for repairs. The unit is in constant need of adjustment and or repair and is totally unreliable. A total lemon that spent more time in a service bay than it has in my garage. So, I'm back to cutting the grass with my 21" troy-bilt push mower that actually gets the job done. I would sell it for pennies on the dollar if only I could find a sucker to buy it! The dealership that sold it to me is a story for another day. I can't figure out what keep them in business.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design in year 1

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Belts constantly an issue. Transmission failed, front wheels fall off, now bolted on. If you like to work on things this is for you, if you like to mow-not so much.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Dean
Location: Central Virginia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this mower for 3 years. I mow 3/4 acre fescue grass yard at 3-3.5 inches. Bought it when they redesigned from a 10.5 hp and 14 gauge deck to 13.5 and 12 gauge. I agree withe several of the comments and will also add a few.
The belt slip problem was immediate. Gravely worked with my dealer and added more spring tension. It has been at the dealer again to correct the corrected issue. This should have been solved but comments here indicate it has not. BOO!
I am 6'0" and have to lean over too much. It would be easy to add height adjustment. The handle is just tube stock. If I was 5'9" I would be set.
I bought the mulch kit. If your garss is wet, the grass will leave clumps under the mower and require constant removal from under the deck. When the grass is tall and requires 3 or more inches of removal, switch to the standard mower blades. Beware, clippings will be left. The deck is squared off at the bottom for support. This catches grass and should be rolled.
The max height is 3.5 inches and only adjusts at the fron wheels. 4 inches would be better and allow for adjusts at rear wheels.
The mower requires a lot of getting used to. It will wear out your arms mowing on slopes and in ditches at first. The anser is let the mower do the work. The vibration is thhere as well so I wear anti-vibration gloves and have no issues.
Overall it was a $1500 mower and can not be compared to a $3500 commercial unit witch will be my next purchase. The price point is at the edge of a homeowner walk behind. Gravely, please listen to peoples comments and improve this unit. Making this an $1800 unit and solve these issues will not push away a guy who can afford a $1500 less than great mower.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WAW cuts very nice

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
jeff
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy this mower a lot.
Mow a lot and 1/2, also entrance to a 10 acre lot.
Wasn't happy with how it cut at first, bought a set a replacement blades, HUGE difference..
No vibration, forward and reverse are smooth, couldn't be happier.
Very nice piece of equipment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad belt design

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Chris
Location: Maryland
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although cut quality and early durability are good, I asked one and only one question when I bought my WAW 34: "does the belt slip off the blade engagement pulley". My dealer said no, I bought it. The belt slips off the blade pulley every other time I disengage the blades. I've used gravely products from the old days and they were great. I already trying to figure out how to get rid of the WAW and not lose all my money. The blade belt drive is an obvious bad engineering design. What a disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Carey
Waukesha
i agree
Posted July 1, 2013
Belts jumped off nd time I used it. 5 Years into it I am putting belts on every time I cut, I told the wife I was divorcing the mower last night after 4 hours to change PTO belt, cannot sell it with clear mind so I will trade on non-Arien's product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower for the money

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have a 3/4 acre lot with slopes & beds. Mower has great power - and leaves a good cut.
Pros:
- A good value for the money.
- blades suck up anything you go over - and blow clippings 10 ft. No need for a mulcher or blower. This is the greatest value of the Gravely.
- Easy to use/operate.
- Easy to change deck height.
- Cut down mowing time considerably.
Cons:
- I also had an issue with the drive belt falling off and dealer fixed. But this was a bad design and after two seasons I hope the fix is permanent.
- It does require a little muscle - so don't plan buying for the wife unless she is a beefer.
- Mulch kit is a waste of money. I bought it - used it a couple times and have never used again. Regular discharge is better than mulcher.
Note - I have never had hand fatigue like mentioned by some other posters. This may be unique to their unit. Mine runs very smooth and is easy to operate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Gravely WAW 34!!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Ogallala, NE
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cuts my time in half when mowing my larger accounts!
Really has a great suction when bagging, and sure you don't
get all the clippings but with that much vaccuum it makes the lawn
look Great! Had to get some adjustment done on the drive to make
it climb slopes better. Other than that its been a GREAT addition to
my lawn business!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good engine, cut is acceptable - not well designed

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I agree with other reviews regarding the deck, I think it would give a better cut with a floating deck. Handles do give hand fatigue at times.
Purchased mulching kit with mower had professionally installed.....was the worse buy ever. Does not mulch well if cut more than 1-2 inches even if grass is dry.
Would not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent mower but going to return

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Chris69
Location: Pewaukee, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall the actual cut looks amazing. I have that professional look to my lawn. One con would be my wife couldn't control this unit as it does require some force at turns. Also, I felt like I got a lot of hand fatigue while using it on my 1/2 acre. If my hands got wet from my sweat it made it harder to hold handles down.
Because the unit is powerful, clippings and mulch pieces fly hard and high. My wife said she heard mulch pieces smack the window at high force from 20' away. Be cautious if people are around while you mow.
I enjoyed the cut itself but this one isn't for me. For the record I used commercial push mowers for 15 years and wanted to have one for my house. Since this one was affordable I gave it a shot.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall excellent value

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Eric
Location: Raymore, MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
* VALUE is excellent ! I purchased this product as a low end larger walk behind.
* I lost 21" of mowing width due to my son going to college!
* I have a 1/2 acre yard with a 30-40 degree slope on the east side of the home.
* I was comparing this mower to a 34" Billy Goat walk behind.
* PERFORMANCE=> Was told that this mower would hold the hills better than the Billy Goat. * Had no problems on the hills except when I tried to "hilltop" ...with the deck being a fixed deck there are a few times coming over the top of the hill where I need to rock the mower back and forth to get over the top due to the deck getting stuck.
* I believe this could be resolved if a floating deck was utilized
* CUTTING=> if you are mowing ät the 2 3/4", 3", 3 1/4", 3 1/2" settings you will have a professional clean looking cut. Below the 2 3/4" level the cut is "choppy" because the deck is not floating
* I would like to see a roller added to the back of the mower replacing the safety "flap" that is there now to make the grass lay down like a golf green cut
* DURABILITY - as expected with the Gravely products I have been around before (neighbors and friends) all have mowers which have lasted 20 years+ , even had one neighbor using an old sickle bar mower from 35 years ago and still performing well.
*This machine is heavy and just feels solid while mowing. There is NO VIBRATION. The large back pneumatic wheels give it a solid feel and very little bouncing going on whether mowing straight on or making turns.
*FEATURES - Controls are easy to use. The reverse on the fly is so handy to maneuver the mower in those tight turns and narrow spaces under my deck. You will never need to lift this mower up. Thank goodness for the electric start which makes it easier on the operators back and allows the operator to be behind the unit at all times, start to finish!
* HANDLE HEIGHT - on my 21" mower I have the capability to adjust the handles for anyone 5 ft to 6 ft 5" and still remain comfortable behind the mower. I find the WAW 34 handles to be a bit low and would like to see some kind of adjustment. At 6ft 1 I am finding I have to "crouch" a bit to use the mower.
* BAG ATTACHMENT is quite cumbersome to install. I modified the bag attachment with 3 longer bolts (2 @1 3/4" and then one 1 1/2" bolt that is near the deflector shield) from the bottom of the deck. I installed a nut on each of the 3 holes which bolt the bag attachment to the deck. There are enough threads on the top of the bolt that I can simply slip the bag attachment over the secured bolts and install another locking nut on top... attaching the bag went from 10 minutes with lots of force needed , to under a minute with no force! Seems like a simple factory fix. No change in performance as there is a small lip on the bottom of the discharge chute which compensates for the additional 1/4" height of the secure nut.
GAS TANK- 2.5 gallon tank so you can mow and mow and mow and mow w/o stopping !
Overall a definite would buy again. Hopefully my next one will have some of the enhancements I addressed in the above comments
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Mike
Rhode Island
Keep Your Toolbox Handy
Posted July 27, 2013
I have owned this Gravely for three years now. Constant belt tension problems. Problems with height adjustments. I bought the mulching kit and it leaves clumps especially when you turn. I would say it's about a 7 out of 10 in the mulching department. It's a 3 out of 10 in the reliability department. It is also bulky and difficult to turn. The drive controls and their adjustments are a joke. I feel I got ripped off and just tossed $1,500.00 out the window. This mower is headed to Craigslist whereas I just bought a Snapper commercial mulching mower. I hope I have better luck.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Mheidenr
Chesterland, Ohio
Bagger attachement comments are right on the money
Posted May 17, 2012
While the bagger attachement works great, especially on dry clippings, it is a hassle to install. When it is installed you HAVE to use the bag. If you dont want to use the bag, then you have to uninstall the entire bagger attachement. Not a good design.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 12 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value for the dallar

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
earl
Location: massachusetts
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used the machine 1 time so far. It work very well and I did really like the not having to shift for reverse. I did own a 33" Troy Bilt before, and this Gravely performs even better. I did look at many large area walk behinds and feel this was a great value compared to others.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mows quickly and efficiently

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an one half acre lot which is flat with many trees and bushes. I found that once you master the controls you can mow very quickly and efficiently without a lot of effort. Great for the homeowner that needs something larger than just a push mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for me!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Mansfield, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've used my WAW34 for two seasons. The only problem I had was the drive belt kept falling off. My supplier added a kit to fix it and it's been fine since. It runs well and cuts my lawn evenly and quickly. It is much heavier than my old 21" mower so it did take some time to figure out how to manuver it without straining muscles. My only complaint is with the bagging system. The bag unit does not seal well to the side discharge adaptor plate and, after emptying it, clippings blow out until they seal the void. Foam tape corrects it, but needs to be replaced frequently. Overall, I'm very happy with my WAW34 and recommend it to those wanting to reduce the time it takes to cut the lawn with a walk behind mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Troy bilt

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
gary
Location: centerville ohio
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had a Troy Bilt wide cut walk behind for years. Great mower with not problems. After 10 + years it needed to be replaced. With Troy Bilts financial problems, I had to switch. Did not want to step up in price with the commercial mowers therefore the Gravely. Power problems going up small hills at the beginning which my dealer help sove somewhat. Cannot get as close on kidney shaped beds like the Troy
Bilt. The biggest problem is the uneven cut. I do not care how slow or how dry the grass is, It cuts like a bushhog. With a large yard, it is better than a 21" but I would not recommend this mower.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad of a Mower

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: S.E. Ontario
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cut 1.5 acres. Have used this unit for 2 cutting seasons.Replaced a ride-on when the motor detonated. Wanted a large walk behind(at a reasonable price) so as to keep active.
Property is manly flat with a couple of sloping areas. As noted by others it is heavy and difficult to control on those slopes.
Starts with ease. Love the manouverability. Have not had the problem of wheels popping off as stated by others. Only trouble I've had,which may be more due to the dealer setup, is I've just had my second mower clutch cable installed. Each one only lasted a part of one season and a season here in Ontario is only about 5 months.
Didn't get a chance to use the mulch kit this past fall due to the trouble mentioned above, but it worked just ok in the first season. I do have lots of leaves and still needed to rake the "mulch" up because there was so much of it. I do miss the leaf/grass collection I had on the old ride-on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Design flaws compromise performance. Horrible on hillside!

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer avatar
MadFrunk
Location: Nashville, TN
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used this mower for less than 1 mowing season. I investigated my purchase carefully and thought I had made a well-considered purchase. I have been sorely disappointed.
I live on a moderately sloped hillside with several trees, flower beds, and a drainage ditch to contend with. I have mowed this yard for 21 yrs with various mowers: three different 21 in self-propelled mowers, a Snapper rider, and a Troy-bilt 33in walk behind. It's a moderately tough yard to mow. Without a doubt, the Gravely has proven to be the most difficult to use. I am no shrinking violet- I'm a short, stocky, former college athlete with a strong core and legs. I bike, run, or hike nearly every day.
This mower was trouble from the beginning: The first time I used it, 2 of the drive belts fell off. Because of the offset front wheels (which cause other problems as noted below), the "obvious" way to get underneath was to turn the mower up on the side (never a problem with any other mower I've owned). WRONG! I flooded the engine with oil, had to send back to dealer who graciously cleaned the oil out at no charge.
What's good: The mower does 2 things well- it starts reliably and the blades cut well.
What's bad: LOTS; The drive/steering issues detract greatly from performance:
1) The offset wheels present a huge problem mowing perpendicular to the slope. When traversing the slope with the shorter front wheel on the downhill side, the mower wants to turn downhill. This requires one to push on the downhill handle and pull on the uphill handle to prevent the mower from taking off down the hill.
2) Steering the mower on the hillside can be difficult, due to weight, and again, the offset front wheels. The steering handles have rubber grips, but the blade lever (L) and brake levers (R) are bare metal, and as the hands get sweaty on a hot day, it becomes difficult to squeeze these without slipping, particularly as trying to pull one handle while pushing the other (see above).
3) The front wheels are too small, too narrow, and quite cheap in design. Both have popped off the rims several times when hitting bumps and rough spots. Getting the tires back on the rims results in bending the rims, thus requiring a hammer to pound the rims back into shape to hold the tires on the wheels. I'm guessing I'll be purchasing replacements every 1-2 yrs.
4) The machine is underpowered. I literally have to push the mower to get up the slope of the yard. Pretty much like pushing a football blocking sled up the hill. NONE of my previous mowers had any problem tracking up this same slope, including the rider with me on it!
What's more, this problem seems to get worse as the mower heats up, I presume because the drive cable gets warm, expands, and fails to provide adequate tension to engage the drive. However, at no time does this unit perform comparably to my previous mowers on the hill. Reverse always seems better. So, when all else fails, I HAVE TO WALK THE THING BACKWARDS TO GET UP THE SLOPE!
5) The belts are hard to access, and THEY DO COME OFF! Not having a winch to lift the mower, I have to maneuver the mower into position where I lift the back wheels onto a stone ledge so I can crawl underneath (you can't turn it on its side), and despite careful blocking (difficult due to the stupid offset wheels), I am a bit apprehensive climbing underneath this thing which if it shifts will come right down on top of me.
6) The little cable which operates the brake release falls out of place nearly every time I engage the brake. Thus, I have to pull the cable back onto the wheel nearly every time I want to release the brake. This would be an outrageous situation in most cases, but considering the other problems I have outlined, this is but an annoying little inconvenience.
7) The back cover plate concealing/protecting the drive mechanism is already bent beyond repair and will soon be completely off for good.
I would guess that this mower is a champ on a smooth, flat lawn. But if I had a smooth, flat lawn, I'd be on a garden tractor anyway.
This has proven to be one of the biggest purchase mistakes I've made. And the mower is so beat up, after < 4 mos, I couldn't expect to recoup 1/2 of my purchase price if I try to sell it.
I cannot recommend this unit. My old Troy-bilt was just as big, just as heavy, and 200% easier to use than this monster!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better without mulch kit

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower does a much better job with the side discharge chute than it does with the mulch kit. The mulch kit left the grass looking a little lumpy and some areas looked as if they were missed. Once I took the mulch kit off and put the regular blades and discharge chute back on, the quality of the cut was terrific.
Some areas of my lawn are very steep and I still have to use my old 21" mower on those sections. Since the Gravely is heavy and has swivel front wheels, it is very difficult to keep it from wanting to roll down the slope. Gentle slopes are not a problem.
I also looked at a similarly priced Cub Cadet but I think this mower offers several advantages compared to the Cub Cadet. The most significant is probably the reverse gear on the Gravely which makes turning around on a slope much easier.
Other than my caution about steep slopes, I am very satified with this mower and recommend it if you are looking to step up to a wider cut.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Frank
Elora Ontario, Canada.
Mower needs upgrading.
Posted June 16, 2012
The 34in. Gravely has been somewhat of a problem --- but the customer line has been very helpful. I have had trouble with belts falling off , wheels warn out , trouble going down steep hills -- holding speed, wheels slipping going up hills --- but all said & done it does a great job on my lawn , I think Gravely has to re-vamp this model . Yes there are isues & I am hopeing Gravley is listning to there customers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very maneuverable

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower replaced a ride on tractor used in conjunction with a push mower. If you have experience with a walk behind mower you will find this unit easy to operate and maneuver. Quicker than a ride on mower and able to reach areas the ride on can't. Easily cut off one third the time to do my half acre property.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAW 34 (Wide Area Walk)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Performs well but...

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
James
Location: Katonah, NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mower looks good but have had numerous technical issues. At first one of the button nuts popped off, which had to be replaced. The rubber front tire regularly pops off the rim if you hit a minor bump, like a root. And more recently the blade brake came off of the machine. Hopefully you have a dealer close by because this machine constantly needs repair. And the parts are not easy to come by. The blade brake is on back order rendering the machine useless until it arrives (TBD). I mow 1 acre on a weekly basis.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>