Customer reviews for Gravely Pro-Turn 400

Gravely Pro-Turn 400

This is the best mower in the Gravely commercial lineup. Everything our engineers know about reliability, performance, comfort and ease of operation can be found right here. It’s the all day machine you need. Every day.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5
16
4
1
3
0
2
1
1
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pro-Turn 400
Review 1 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower out there

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Marvin
Location: Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using John deere mower for 26 years and my back was in pain when I got done mowing.Bought Gravely 460 with air ride seat and fuel injection engine two months ago and could'nt be happyer.And the quality of the cut is outstanding.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor machine

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
dan
Location: Augusta Co Va.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i have had Gravely machines for the last 15yrs and was always satisfied until i bought this one in May. Had it in the shop at just over a 100hrs for some reason it chewed up the deck belt. In the shop again at 150hrs for broken welds on the frame rails now it needs a ball plunger screw for the dial a cut. The dealer loaned me a new scag cheetah while the gravely was out of service and that machine is ten times better. Had so many compliments on the quality of cut that it left. Sorry Gravely but you dropped the ball on this one,will be going with Scag in the near future.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mower we have ever had!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Jon
Location: IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought a 460 diesel this spring and have put 68 hours onit already. Hands down beats any mower that we have had. You will be surprised at what you can mow in a day with it. Beats the scag we had. The diesel has more then enough power to mow the thickest grass. Very comfortable air ride seat. It is a strong built mower. I would buy another.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Comfort, Speed, and features

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy
Location: Lake Ariel,Pa.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the Pro 460 a couple of months ago and it has been without a doubt the best Investment/ Purchase I have made. I cut a little over 11 acres and this machine handles it with no troubles, if I get rained out and can't cut for 2 weeks she still powers right through. I looked into all the Pro Series Zero turns, from JD to Bad Boy, Toro, Xmark, SCAG etc.. and for all the options I was looking for and cost effective.... over 11,000.00 is a huge investment this machine was. The Air Ride Seat is Very Comfortable, controls and maneuverability are crisp and quick.Sound isn't very loud, I'm over 100 + hours already, have changed the oil 3 times a d its very convenient and easy to get to. Digital Operator Info display takes care of tracking hours, oil & air filter maintenance etc... The only thing I'm not impressed with is tires or tire traction, but I'll change them out soon enough. Over all Operator Comfort is Outstanding especially for All Day Operations-No Fatigue at end of day, Maintenance is simple. Best of all its a Gravely, made in the USA for Years. I may upgrade for Pro 472
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Gravely 452....WOW !

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Brad
Location: Anderson, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned many brands of commercial mowers (scag, toro, john deere, etc) and ive been running a commercial business for almost 10 years. About 3 years ago I bought my first Gravely and ive never looked at any other brand since and will not. Gravely has provided me with top quality, very dependable machines that run all day with no problems at all. The first Gravely I bought was a Pro Turn 252 and we still run that machine today. She has almost 1000 hours on her and ive never even had to replace a belt on that machine....nothing but normal oil changes etc and she cuts and runs like new ! My new purchase was a 452 about 3 months ago. The 400 series is the most comfortable machines you will ever find. Very happy with it and happy with the Kohler EFI 29 HP engine as well. Im saving gas and I can see a big difference in fuel consumption. I now run my business with nothing but Gravely mowers. 3 commercial Zero turns running everyday all day long cutting everything from apartment complexes to high end residential homes and estates and everything in between. Before you make your next purchase of any brand of commercial mower, you better get to your local Gravely dealer and demo a Gravely today !! You will be glad you did. I put my word on it !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN GREEN

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
STEVE
Location: REYNOLDS,ND
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE OWNED JOHN DEERE 930 ' S FOR YEARS AND BOUGHT A NEW ONE EVERY YEAR. BUT I DEMO'D A 930M SPRING OF 2013 AND THE REDESIGNED DECK SUSPENTION SYSTEM WAS NOT WELL THOUGHT OUT . SO I DEMOED A 472 GRAVELY AND I WAS INSTANTLY SOLD . FOR COMPARBLY THE SAME PRICE OF THE JD , I GOT A 72'' DECK , AIR RIDE SEAT , BIGGER MOTOR AND A VERY WELL DESIGNED MOWER , THE 2013 JD WAS NUETERED , COMPARED TO THE 2012 MODEL BY THE SPEED, AND TORQUE,, JD WANTED 450.00 FOR THE SUSPENTION SEAT NOT EVEN AIR RIDE.
IN SHORT THE GRAVELY WILL OUTDO THE NEW JD MODELS HANDS DOWN. THAT COMING FROM A GREEN BLOODED JOHN DEERE FANATIC (ME)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed with performance

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
evergreenpmi
Location: Brewer, ME
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a Gravely Pro-Turn 452 with a bagging unit, striping flap, head lights, roller, dump cart and plug aerator. I had been running an Exmark for the past 7 years and am very impressed with the performance of my 452 so far. The first big test I gave my new machine was mowing in the rain. I could not accomplish bagging with my Exmark because the bagging unit consistently clogged, so this was a great test. I was able to mow just under six acres in a steady rain, while bagging and only clogged up twice. Not due to the design, the deck just got full of grass. I find that my new 452 handles the hills quite a bit better than my old Exmark and the ride was quite a bit more comfortable. In regards to mowing speed, the 452 is much faster and yet is still easy to keep my lines straight. I have been using the machine with the dump cart to run mulch and find that it is a lot easier than pushing a wheel barrow around, I have been able to mow a little later into the night because of the headlights and that has added to my companies production. Overall I can't say enough good things about my new Gravely. I love it and would recommend that any landscaper that is looking to upgrade to a new machine really take a good look at the Gravely. On a final note, the pricing was extremely competitive. I was able to get my Gravely 452 with all the attachments for $1000 dollars less then the comparable Exmark without any of the attachments. I scored big time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is dependable.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
John
Location: Ramseur, NC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product exceeds all my expectations. Only have 150 hours, but it has been very dependable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast mower with a great cut

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Kevin
Location: Raleigh, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased a Pro Turn 460 with the 31 hp Kawasaki. It's a beast of a mower but it's loud, even with headphones. It drinks the gasoline but you get great horsepower and torque as a reward. I like the air ride seat but am not crazy about the front non-pneumatic tires. They develop a flat spot when sitting and they seem bouncy to me when you speed up or are running on a paved surface. Deck is heavy duty and the lift and height adjustments are awesome. The deck wheels are tucked in nicely. Gas guages are handy. Controls are smooth and responsive. Mower seems light for its size but it is stable due to a wide stance. All in all I really like it and have made it my primary mower for big areas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

472

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
brian
Location: s.e. mn
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have had several gravely commercial zero turns over the years and trade every 3- 4 yrs. this new 472 is the best by far! the only thing i dont like is the new front wheels they are terrible.but i can put up with it cause the rest of the mower is so good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You have to try the 400 series!!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Adam
Location: New Hampshire
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
After running Scag mowers for the last 15 years I decided to give the Gravely 400 series a try. I was so impressed I bought a 452 and plan to replace the rest of my Scags with Gravely's. Gravely has set the bar for all others. The ride is unmatched in this industry and the cut quality is amazing!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Zero turn mower experience

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Conesus, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never reviewed any product before, but I was so impressed with my new Gravely Pro-Turn 460 that I decided to give it a shot. I have 60 acres of land with varying elevations and cutting conditions. I mow roughly 12 acres regularly, most of which is fairly open lawn area with a few areas that get kind of tricky. Some of what I cut are trails through the woods and some rough cut fields. My previous mowing time for the 12 acres was 51/2 hrs with a Kubota B2920 tractor with a 60 inch belly mower. My time now is just over 2 hrs, and I'm still getting the hang of the zero turn concept. Plus it's actually enjoyable to cut the grass now. I demo'd all the major brands in this area, Exmark, Scag, Ferris, JD and Kubota. This was not only the best mower, but also the best value. The Gravely dealer had the best warranty and service department which will ultimately be the real best test of any manufacturer. If you have a problem and no one will fix it or help you with a solution then you will hate whatever you buy. Just look at the Gravely side by side any of the other mowers and the superior build quality will be evident. My only knock against the mower so far is fuel consumption, but I opted for the 31hp Kawasaki so I guess I shouldn't expect diesel type fuel consumption. The engine is a true beast though. Doesn't miss a beat and handles ANY type of grass at ANY speed. Good on wet grass as long as you don't get stupid and are light on the controls. Great mower. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mowes really nice and the kohler motor is nice.

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Darin
Location: Ocala florida
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The deck wheels are junk. The new air ride seat has very poor mounts and can see them being replaced alot and this mower only has 30hr on it. could be designed better. The deck wheels are the weak link on this mower. There is a way to fix it but let them find it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dave
Hannibal, Mo.
more than what I bargained for! Model 460
Posted August 21, 2013
I mow approx. 8 acres weekly on my farm. I am not a professional lawn keeper, but just wanted a good machine that would hold up. The machine has performed perfectly and has reduced my mow time from 6-7 hours to 3 hours. After 75 hours of use the blades are still sharp and my lawn has not looked this good in years. I am not a fan of Kohler Engines but so far this fuel injected engine has performed perfectly with TONS OF POWER TO SPARE. When I purchased this machine, the dealer told me this would be the last mower I'd buy. I think he was right. The air ride seat is amazing and works very well. For once in my life, I finally bought something that produces more that what I bargained for!!!! Although not cheap, you get what you pay for. Highly recommend this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gravely 460 Pro vs. John Deere 930 Commercial 60-inch

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Rod
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You’ll remember me as the person who was trying out/comparing your 460 Gravely 60-inch mower to the John Deere 930 60-inch mower. As I told you, we test drove both and I’m so thankful that we purchased the Gravely 460 over the JD 930. I’ve had JD for years, big mowers because I mow a lot of acres of not perfect terrain. This Gravely cuts better, cuts faster, runs faster and is far more comfortable than my previous JD 757 60-inch and way more comfortable than the current JD 930. That inflatable adjustable seat is WOW! I mowed yesterday for ten hours straight in 3-foot grass with thistles and it performed perfect. I wasn’t tired at all. What a workhorse. The grass area I mowed looks terrific too. Some of the portion that was previously mowed looks like a golf green. Very nice cut! Anyway, thanks for putting up with the several days of questions and test drives. We’re confident we made the right decision because my mowing time is less, my comfort is much better and fuel economy is very good with the fuel injection system. Starts right up every time too. Very satisfied! Thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gravely has raised the bar with this mower.

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Dan
Location: Pittsburgh
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very satisfied with this new mower. It is packed with features and no corners were cut. I like the dial deck height adjustment and the 31HP Kawasaki has power to spare. The air ride seat is fantastic. The build quality and features are excellent. Before buying this mower, I looked at quite a few competitors. The Gravely was better in each case and the price was lower than the competition.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wouldn't even consider a Ferris after this ride

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow! This unit is made to work. 31HP Kawi really gets it done. Air ride seat makes me think twice about riding anything else. Great cutting height adjustment. Excellent discharge distribution. I dare anyone to compare to a Ferris ride!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great mower

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Rex
Location: Northeast Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned near every model from the pm200 to this pro turn 460 and can honestly say that this mower definitely carries on gravely's great reputation of a high quality lawn mower. The air ride seat is great for those 3 hour lawns, I actually look forward to sitting in the seat every morning. Lots of power, blade tip speed is decent, fuel consumption... Questionable. Cleans up after itself nicely. All and all a very good lawn mower, hopefully will get 2500+ hrs. of life out of this Kawasaki motor like all my past motors.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Rjm363
Location: Allentown, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great job on the new deck lift system. Much better than the old pin style. The air ride seat feels good; I don't feel any extra vibration from the hard tires on the front. My local Gravely dealer will be giving me a demo as soon as the grass starts to grow, and if it cuts anything like the PT260, I'll be buying one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
thomas
palacios, texas
Posted June 8, 2012
best ride ever, better than my kubota
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)