Customer reviews for Gravely Pro-Turn 400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gravely.

Gravely Pro-Turn 400

This is the best mower in the Gravely commercial lineup. Everything our engineers know about reliability, performance, comfort and ease of operation can be found right here. It’s the all day machine you need. Every day.
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5
28
4
6
3
1
2
1
1
0
34 out of 36(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pro-Turn 400
Review 1 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Pro Turn 460 with Kohler EFI engine is just a beast!

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Monroe LA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first zero turn unit, and from how well the Pro Turn 460 is built, will probably be my last. It is built like a tank, but rides like a Cadillac. The air ride seat, combined with the isolation mounts of the foot deck and seat deck make for one gentle ride. You really cannot feel the mower running AT ALL while seated and all but the most severe bumps in your yard will feel like riding on a cloud. The Kohler EFI engine is a pleasure to operate. Turn the key on, wait for the fuel pumps to stop priming, turn the key to crank and the motor starts right up. No need to worry whether or not should you choke or not, cause their aint one. And talk about fuel economy, I cut about 6 acres and use less than a single tank of gas, probably about 5 or 6 gallons. With the EFI youn dont have to worry about bogging the engine either, I have to bog mine down and there have been a couple of times my grass has gotten pretty tall (1 ft or better tall). I bought mine with the mulching kit and it will give you the finest looking cut you could want, with no clippings pile up anywhere. I have run in to only a couple of items I would like to see improvements on. The mechanized lift needs to be a standard feature on a mower of this caliber and price. It needs some type of tool / storage box, I like to keep a pair of pruning shears with me and my old JD had a tool box built in to the fender. The standard turf tires do not have enough tread on them for my opinion. If you get even the slightest amount of mud in the tread, the tire becomes a racing slick, and with the weight of this unit you quickly become stuck. Overall though, I LOVE MY Gravely!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the overall Features and confort.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can mows my 6 acres in about 2.5 Hrs. with my new Pro-Turn 400. The deck is heavy gauge steel and the mower is well built. I did have the retention spring pop off the hydraulic drive belt after 25 hrs of running. The dealer came out and installed a new one two days later. The air ride seat saves my lower back from the rough ground. The weight of the mower can cause the mower deck to scallop the lawn when you turn at to high of speed. If the ground is moist at all the rear tires will rip out the grass when you make a tight turn. I believe the weight of the mower contributes to this issue. This is the second Gravely zero turn I have owned. The first was a 260Z. Its a good mower so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rough ride, Doesn't mow tall grass well.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Greencastle, IN
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The mower deck balls up bales of grass & spits them out periodically , doesn't come close to my 2005 Dixie Chopper. I'm thinking about selling it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice mower, does an excellent job.

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Mpls, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I’m very satisfied with the performance of the machine. The power makes it possible to stretch intervals btwn cuttings. It really throws the clipping out there, leaving an acceptable appearance.
Purchased an extra WMT for my vac system, which makes for quick connect and conversion. See photo.
A few cons: can’t say if they are dealership issues or assembly issues. Anyway, the fuel line clamp to the fuel filter was improperly positioned. This caused a fuel leak and resulted in burn spots on the lawn. At first I thought the burn spots were caused by a hot hydraulic fluid leak because I noticed one reservoir lever was a little lower than the other. On closer inspection of the machine I discovered a RED clamp way out on the fuel line. It’s interesting that all the other fuel line clamps are BLACK. See photo.
While looking underneath the machine for leaks I discovered a missing tension spring. See photo. The dealer was happy to order the part…for 9 bucks. Also visible in the same photo is the mower lift. For safety when caring for this heavy machine it’s a must-have MoJack XT. Don’t go without wheel chocks and hearing protection.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it a good mower. runs good, a little hard on gas

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: tell city in.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is an excellent mower, runs good and cuts good. I have had it 3 months and have had not problems with it. It does have a design problem back where the muffler is it will dig in the ground and hang you up. Muffler and rear protection guard needs to be shorter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great American Product

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Pro-turn 460 is a great quality commercial mower. I mow 4 acres in 2.5 hours. Prior tractor took almost 4 hours. This machine is powerful and dependable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a wonderful product.

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love a Gravely mower. This is my second one. It is dependable and exactly what I needed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been great.

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Darien, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My new Pro 460 has increased my production tremendously. It has plenty of power to cut my more difficult lawns. Very simple to operate with a comfortable ride. Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Waynesville ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a wonderful mower. We cut around 30 acres a week with it and have never had any problems. The build quality is excellent!! I can mow about 8 hours straight without having to refuel and the ride is very very smooth. Will buy another when the time comes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish it had flip up deck but otherwise great!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mow for a living, and the 472 works great. I didn't have an issue with cost as I didn't pay for it, my boss did haha. But anyways it cuts very tall wet gras very well but after it gets warm it doesn't like to start. It starts but it takes a while. I also wish it had a flip up deck for ease of blade sharpening as it needs to be done quite often when you mow entire hog sites every day. Great machine and extremely comfy just wish it would start a little better when hot and had have a flip up deck for easy blade maintenance. Would definitely recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Covington VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
After mowing seven acres with a 54in Husky and taking five hours to complete, this Gravely 72inch is a god send. I can mow the whole property in 1 1/2 hours. Mows fast and no making turn arounds at the end of a row. I actually enjoy mowing grass now. The air ride seat is comfortable and enjoyable. An individual who has a lot of grass to mow should really consider a Gravely zero-turn mower. The 35hp Kawasaki motor has awesome power. Best purchase I have made in a long time. great investment. The performance is outstanding. The ride is better than any zero turn I test drove. I test drove Dixie Chopper, X-mark, John Deere, Husqvarna, and whatever that brand that Tractor Supply sells. None compared to Gravely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features, Comfortable Machine

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Lake Ariel, Pa
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned the Pro-460 for a little over a year now. I cut roughly 8-10 acres with it. Aside from regularly cleaning the under portion of the cutting deck, and maintaining sharp blades this machine just keeps on going. The Air ride seat definitely reduces fatigue and certainly makes for a smoother and more comfortable ride while working. The easy adjustable Deck Height with the push of your foot works well, especially if you come across a high spot in the lawn or in my case a couple of boulder tips that stick up out of the ground, simply raise the deck quickly with your foot and continue cutting. Maintenance is very easy, oil drain extension is on already, so no fighting with the drain plug, air filter is right up top and easy to get to, has an on-board timer to keep track of hours and maintenance schedule, fuel tanks are good size, less stopping to re-fuel means more hours of operation. I did a lot of research on various machines, Scag, Exmark, Kubota, and Ferris I liked what was offered more through Gravely than the competition, The Ride and seat features are above and beyond, The Gravely Name and Reputation is well known. I am looking at buying the pro-Turn 48 or the 452 to add to my fleet. Hope this helps in your decision, you won't be disappointed with a Pro-Turn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent turning

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: town of richmond maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a 72 inch rider and the parks and rec. dept. love it.
This is num. 3 for us.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a WINNER!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Greeley, CO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is so easy to maneuver, in tight areas you rarely need to trim. The ride is fantastic, you don't feel abused at the end of the day. The cyclonic filtration system is superior to the flat paper filters used on other mowers. All & all, I would buy another Gravely in a heartbeat.
K.C.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Top of the line mower!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Meadow, MN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a Gravely dealer, we always turn customers to the 2014 Gravely Pro-Turn 460. It has power, durability, and the MOST COMFORT! The only thing I can think of that could be adjusted would be the exhaust. All it needs it a turndown pipe or an extension to get the heat and the noise away from the mower, but there is a very minimal fix. This thing ROCKS! Gravely has took tireless hours of mowing and turned it into enjoyable and comfortable hours of mowing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mower!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cumming,Iowa 50061
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No complaints on the mower at all, it is the best! Head light accessory is a piece of junk. They vibrate so bad that they arn't any good. Were the same on my previous mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Atlantic,IA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the most comfortable mower I have ever mowed with, the air ride seat makes it tolerable to mow all day long and still be able to walk when your done!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rugged Mower

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Blue Hill, Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own a landscaping business and we have tried out many mowers in the past. We have been running mostly Toro zero turns for the past 7 years. I gave Gravely a shot this spring and have been very pleased. The reps and dealers are awesome. They are honest and go above and beyond to help us out and that means everything to me. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars all the way down is because of some small issues we have had with breaking a belt on the bagging system attachment. But their dealer has been excellent and working hard to get it fixed for us. It's well built above all others, gives and excellent cut, the best ride out there, and very intuitive controls!! Even beats the John Deere mowers and priced way less. We will be switching all of our Toros out over time. Refreshing to see an American built machine doing so well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower out there

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using John deere mower for 26 years and my back was in pain when I got done mowing.Bought Gravely 460 with air ride seat and fuel injection engine two months ago and could'nt be happyer.And the quality of the cut is outstanding.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor machine

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Augusta Co Va.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i have had Gravely machines for the last 15yrs and was always satisfied until i bought this one in May. Had it in the shop at just over a 100hrs for some reason it chewed up the deck belt. In the shop again at 150hrs for broken welds on the frame rails now it needs a ball plunger screw for the dial a cut. The dealer loaned me a new scag cheetah while the gravely was out of service and that machine is ten times better. Had so many compliments on the quality of cut that it left. Sorry Gravely but you dropped the ball on this one,will be going with Scag in the near future.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>