Customer reviews for Gravely Pro-Turn 400

Gravely Pro-Turn 400

This is the best mower in the Gravely commercial lineup. Everything our engineers know about reliability, performance, comfort and ease of operation can be found right here. It’s the all day machine you need. Every day.
Overall rating:
4.708 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5
19
4
4
3
0
2
1
1
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pro-Turn 400
Review 1 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a WINNER!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
K. C.
Location: Greeley, CO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is so easy to maneuver, in tight areas you rarely need to trim. The ride is fantastic, you don't feel abused at the end of the day. The cyclonic filtration system is superior to the flat paper filters used on other mowers. All & all, I would buy another Gravely in a heartbeat.
K.C.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Top of the line mower!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Karsen
Location: Grand Meadow, MN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a Gravely dealer, we always turn customers to the 2014 Gravely Pro-Turn 460. It has power, durability, and the MOST COMFORT! The only thing I can think of that could be adjusted would be the exhaust. All it needs it a turndown pipe or an extension to get the heat and the noise away from the mower, but there is a very minimal fix. This thing ROCKS! Gravely has took tireless hours of mowing and turned it into enjoyable and comfortable hours of mowing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mower!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Dennis
Location: Cumming,Iowa 50061
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No complaints on the mower at all, it is the best! Head light accessory is a piece of junk. They vibrate so bad that they arn't any good. Were the same on my previous mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cut your cutting time in half

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Monroe, LA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Pro Turn 460 with the Kohler EFI 27HP motor and 60 inch deck. I have 6 acres of yard to cut that, with one on those green yard tractors, would take me about 6 1/2 hours to finish. With the gravely it now takes me only 3 hours to finish. The 60 inch deck (versus a 54 inch) helps in that time, but the biggest plus is the speed at which you can actually cut. Most machines if you try to go top speed AND cut you end up leaving uncut grass. Not with the Gravely, this machine will do both, but make sure to fasten that seat belt! I would like to see it come standard with the deck lift kit and some type of tool box. I keep a pair of pruning shears with me for cutting low hanging limbs and there is no place to keep them. I love the EFI on this guy and wish that it would have been available on the 30HP. I can truthfully say though, with the 27HP Kohler EFI I have never once bogged the motor down and there have been some times the grass has gotten pretty tall. I love my Gravely and you would have a fight to take it away from me now. Get your local dealer to demo a unit for you and you will fall in love with it. This mower is made like a tank. The gauge of steel used is so thick this is no way you are going to hurt this machine bumping into a tree or concrete curb. The bottom rim of the deck is reinforced with a strap of 1/4 steel to make sure the deck keeps it shape. I got mine with a mulch kit, if you want that manicured look for your lawn, mulching is the way to go.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Atlantic,IA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the most comfortable mower I have ever mowed with, the air ride seat makes it tolerable to mow all day long and still be able to walk when your done!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rugged Mower

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jason
Location: Blue Hill, Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own a landscaping business and we have tried out many mowers in the past. We have been running mostly Toro zero turns for the past 7 years. I gave Gravely a shot this spring and have been very pleased. The reps and dealers are awesome. They are honest and go above and beyond to help us out and that means everything to me. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars all the way down is because of some small issues we have had with breaking a belt on the bagging system attachment. But their dealer has been excellent and working hard to get it fixed for us. It's well built above all others, gives and excellent cut, the best ride out there, and very intuitive controls!! Even beats the John Deere mowers and priced way less. We will be switching all of our Toros out over time. Refreshing to see an American built machine doing so well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower out there

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Marvin
Location: Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using John deere mower for 26 years and my back was in pain when I got done mowing.Bought Gravely 460 with air ride seat and fuel injection engine two months ago and could'nt be happyer.And the quality of the cut is outstanding.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor machine

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
dan
Location: Augusta Co Va.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i have had Gravely machines for the last 15yrs and was always satisfied until i bought this one in May. Had it in the shop at just over a 100hrs for some reason it chewed up the deck belt. In the shop again at 150hrs for broken welds on the frame rails now it needs a ball plunger screw for the dial a cut. The dealer loaned me a new scag cheetah while the gravely was out of service and that machine is ten times better. Had so many compliments on the quality of cut that it left. Sorry Gravely but you dropped the ball on this one,will be going with Scag in the near future.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mower we have ever had!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Jon
Location: IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought a 460 diesel this spring and have put 68 hours onit already. Hands down beats any mower that we have had. You will be surprised at what you can mow in a day with it. Beats the scag we had. The diesel has more then enough power to mow the thickest grass. Very comfortable air ride seat. It is a strong built mower. I would buy another.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Comfort, Speed, and features

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy
Location: Lake Ariel,Pa.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the Pro 460 a couple of months ago and it has been without a doubt the best Investment/ Purchase I have made. I cut a little over 11 acres and this machine handles it with no troubles, if I get rained out and can't cut for 2 weeks she still powers right through. I looked into all the Pro Series Zero turns, from JD to Bad Boy, Toro, Xmark, SCAG etc.. and for all the options I was looking for and cost effective.... over 11,000.00 is a huge investment this machine was. The Air Ride Seat is Very Comfortable, controls and maneuverability are crisp and quick.Sound isn't very loud, I'm over 100 + hours already, have changed the oil 3 times a d its very convenient and easy to get to. Digital Operator Info display takes care of tracking hours, oil & air filter maintenance etc... The only thing I'm not impressed with is tires or tire traction, but I'll change them out soon enough. Over all Operator Comfort is Outstanding especially for All Day Operations-No Fatigue at end of day, Maintenance is simple. Best of all its a Gravely, made in the USA for Years. I may upgrade for Pro 472
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Gravely 452....WOW !

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Brad
Location: Anderson, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned many brands of commercial mowers (scag, toro, john deere, etc) and ive been running a commercial business for almost 10 years. About 3 years ago I bought my first Gravely and ive never looked at any other brand since and will not. Gravely has provided me with top quality, very dependable machines that run all day with no problems at all. The first Gravely I bought was a Pro Turn 252 and we still run that machine today. She has almost 1000 hours on her and ive never even had to replace a belt on that machine....nothing but normal oil changes etc and she cuts and runs like new ! My new purchase was a 452 about 3 months ago. The 400 series is the most comfortable machines you will ever find. Very happy with it and happy with the Kohler EFI 29 HP engine as well. Im saving gas and I can see a big difference in fuel consumption. I now run my business with nothing but Gravely mowers. 3 commercial Zero turns running everyday all day long cutting everything from apartment complexes to high end residential homes and estates and everything in between. Before you make your next purchase of any brand of commercial mower, you better get to your local Gravely dealer and demo a Gravely today !! You will be glad you did. I put my word on it !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN GREEN

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
STEVE
Location: REYNOLDS,ND
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE OWNED JOHN DEERE 930 ' S FOR YEARS AND BOUGHT A NEW ONE EVERY YEAR. BUT I DEMO'D A 930M SPRING OF 2013 AND THE REDESIGNED DECK SUSPENTION SYSTEM WAS NOT WELL THOUGHT OUT . SO I DEMOED A 472 GRAVELY AND I WAS INSTANTLY SOLD . FOR COMPARBLY THE SAME PRICE OF THE JD , I GOT A 72'' DECK , AIR RIDE SEAT , BIGGER MOTOR AND A VERY WELL DESIGNED MOWER , THE 2013 JD WAS NUETERED , COMPARED TO THE 2012 MODEL BY THE SPEED, AND TORQUE,, JD WANTED 450.00 FOR THE SUSPENTION SEAT NOT EVEN AIR RIDE.
IN SHORT THE GRAVELY WILL OUTDO THE NEW JD MODELS HANDS DOWN. THAT COMING FROM A GREEN BLOODED JOHN DEERE FANATIC (ME)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed with performance

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
evergreenpmi
Location: Brewer, ME
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a Gravely Pro-Turn 452 with a bagging unit, striping flap, head lights, roller, dump cart and plug aerator. I had been running an Exmark for the past 7 years and am very impressed with the performance of my 452 so far. The first big test I gave my new machine was mowing in the rain. I could not accomplish bagging with my Exmark because the bagging unit consistently clogged, so this was a great test. I was able to mow just under six acres in a steady rain, while bagging and only clogged up twice. Not due to the design, the deck just got full of grass. I find that my new 452 handles the hills quite a bit better than my old Exmark and the ride was quite a bit more comfortable. In regards to mowing speed, the 452 is much faster and yet is still easy to keep my lines straight. I have been using the machine with the dump cart to run mulch and find that it is a lot easier than pushing a wheel barrow around, I have been able to mow a little later into the night because of the headlights and that has added to my companies production. Overall I can't say enough good things about my new Gravely. I love it and would recommend that any landscaper that is looking to upgrade to a new machine really take a good look at the Gravely. On a final note, the pricing was extremely competitive. I was able to get my Gravely 452 with all the attachments for $1000 dollars less then the comparable Exmark without any of the attachments. I scored big time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is dependable.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
John
Location: Ramseur, NC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product exceeds all my expectations. Only have 150 hours, but it has been very dependable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast mower with a great cut

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Kevin
Location: Raleigh, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased a Pro Turn 460 with the 31 hp Kawasaki. It's a beast of a mower but it's loud, even with headphones. It drinks the gasoline but you get great horsepower and torque as a reward. I like the air ride seat but am not crazy about the front non-pneumatic tires. They develop a flat spot when sitting and they seem bouncy to me when you speed up or are running on a paved surface. Deck is heavy duty and the lift and height adjustments are awesome. The deck wheels are tucked in nicely. Gas guages are handy. Controls are smooth and responsive. Mower seems light for its size but it is stable due to a wide stance. All in all I really like it and have made it my primary mower for big areas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

472

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
brian
Location: s.e. mn
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have had several gravely commercial zero turns over the years and trade every 3- 4 yrs. this new 472 is the best by far! the only thing i dont like is the new front wheels they are terrible.but i can put up with it cause the rest of the mower is so good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You have to try the 400 series!!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Adam
Location: New Hampshire
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
After running Scag mowers for the last 15 years I decided to give the Gravely 400 series a try. I was so impressed I bought a 452 and plan to replace the rest of my Scags with Gravely's. Gravely has set the bar for all others. The ride is unmatched in this industry and the cut quality is amazing!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Zero turn mower experience

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Conesus, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never reviewed any product before, but I was so impressed with my new Gravely Pro-Turn 460 that I decided to give it a shot. I have 60 acres of land with varying elevations and cutting conditions. I mow roughly 12 acres regularly, most of which is fairly open lawn area with a few areas that get kind of tricky. Some of what I cut are trails through the woods and some rough cut fields. My previous mowing time for the 12 acres was 51/2 hrs with a Kubota B2920 tractor with a 60 inch belly mower. My time now is just over 2 hrs, and I'm still getting the hang of the zero turn concept. Plus it's actually enjoyable to cut the grass now. I demo'd all the major brands in this area, Exmark, Scag, Ferris, JD and Kubota. This was not only the best mower, but also the best value. The Gravely dealer had the best warranty and service department which will ultimately be the real best test of any manufacturer. If you have a problem and no one will fix it or help you with a solution then you will hate whatever you buy. Just look at the Gravely side by side any of the other mowers and the superior build quality will be evident. My only knock against the mower so far is fuel consumption, but I opted for the 31hp Kawasaki so I guess I shouldn't expect diesel type fuel consumption. The engine is a true beast though. Doesn't miss a beat and handles ANY type of grass at ANY speed. Good on wet grass as long as you don't get stupid and are light on the controls. Great mower. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mowes really nice and the kohler motor is nice.

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Darin
Location: Ocala florida
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The deck wheels are junk. The new air ride seat has very poor mounts and can see them being replaced alot and this mower only has 30hr on it. could be designed better. The deck wheels are the weak link on this mower. There is a way to fix it but let them find it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dave
Hannibal, Mo.
more than what I bargained for! Model 460
Posted August 21, 2013
I mow approx. 8 acres weekly on my farm. I am not a professional lawn keeper, but just wanted a good machine that would hold up. The machine has performed perfectly and has reduced my mow time from 6-7 hours to 3 hours. After 75 hours of use the blades are still sharp and my lawn has not looked this good in years. I am not a fan of Kohler Engines but so far this fuel injected engine has performed perfectly with TONS OF POWER TO SPARE. When I purchased this machine, the dealer told me this would be the last mower I'd buy. I think he was right. The air ride seat is amazing and works very well. For once in my life, I finally bought something that produces more that what I bargained for!!!! Although not cheap, you get what you pay for. Highly recommend this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Pro-Turn 400
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gravely 460 Pro vs. John Deere 930 Commercial 60-inch

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Rod
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You’ll remember me as the person who was trying out/comparing your 460 Gravely 60-inch mower to the John Deere 930 60-inch mower. As I told you, we test drove both and I’m so thankful that we purchased the Gravely 460 over the JD 930. I’ve had JD for years, big mowers because I mow a lot of acres of not perfect terrain. This Gravely cuts better, cuts faster, runs faster and is far more comfortable than my previous JD 757 60-inch and way more comfortable than the current JD 930. That inflatable adjustable seat is WOW! I mowed yesterday for ten hours straight in 3-foot grass with thistles and it performed perfect. I wasn’t tired at all. What a workhorse. The grass area I mowed looks terrific too. Some of the portion that was previously mowed looks like a golf green. Very nice cut! Anyway, thanks for putting up with the several days of questions and test drives. We’re confident we made the right decision because my mowing time is less, my comfort is much better and fuel economy is very good with the fuel injection system. Starts right up every time too. Very satisfied! Thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>