Customer reviews for Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Take a good look. By anybody’s standards this machine is well put together. You can up those standards by choosing a machine with the new XLerator™ Deck. This precision cutting system will deliver a landscape appearance that’s up to professional standards.
Overall rating:
4.664 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5
81
4
25
3
1
2
2
1
1
106 out of 110(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gravely ZT Series
Review 1 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a headache.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Steven
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nothing but problems from our Gravely. It's only 3 years old! When we have put it in the shop at the Gravely dealer, it has consistently come home with bigger problems than it had when we took it in. No mystery there.
I truly regret buying a Gravely and will not repeat this mistake.
With the cost of parts, it is not cost effective to even repair it. I actually wouldn't have even rated it 1 Star, but I had to put in something.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disppointed

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
gary
Location: Virginia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my second ZT42. I returned the first one due to issues with skipping grass blades and missing strips. The dealer replaced it and now the replacement is doing the same thing. The problem gets worse with deck height at 3.5 inches. I have tried several suggestions for fixes with first mower and nothing helped.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I do not recomend this product

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
john
Location: punta gorda, FL
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Should you have curved garden curbing this machine will not be able to cut to the curb thereby leaving uncut areas to return to, to finish the job. Another problem it leaves rutts in the grass from its wheels.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Product, A Few Design/Defect Issues

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
David
Location: South Yarmouth, MA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the most part, when the mower is working, it's performance is good. However, I have had several issues, first with a choke cable that became disconnected and in process damaged. It took the dealer almost six weeks to get the part and repair the defect. Second, the throttle lever broke, and it's back in the shop, all under warranty, but just inconvenient. I would also mention that the two bag grass catcher accessory design needs some work. For the weight of the catcher frame, the support system, especially with grass filling in not sufficient and I have to keep tightening the hand screws constantly to alleviate the bags "flopping" from side to side putting undo pressure on the supports and the receiver which is screwed to the frame has broken, had to order a new one. I hope Gravely is listening.......
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this machine

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Raleigh, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gravely ZT42
Bottom line: My lawn looks really good after being cut with this machine. That is what counts. But the machine is expensive.
Previous problems: My old mower was a 38" Yard Machine tractor style mower. It did not produce an even cut, no matter how much effort I put into leveling the deck. It would not cut in reverse. You had to stop, disengage the PTO, shift to reverse, back up, shift to forward and re-engage the PTO. A royal pain.
My lawn: I have a 1 acre lot, but only about half of it is grass. There are "natural" areas all around the lot borders, with the house more or less in the middle. Nothing is geometrical. You cannot mow in a normal rectangular pattern anywhere. The lot is not level, but the slopes are not too steep. There is a drainage "dip" (shallower than a ditch) along the street. The Yard Machine mower was particularly bad on the slopes and in the "dip".
Performance: The cut is quite level and the lawn looks much better now, even in the "dip" and on the slopes. I almost bought the ZT34 thinking the narrower deck might cut more evenly, but the ZT42 does just fine. The machine cuts in forward and reverse, which makes maneuvering around the odd shapes of my lawn much easier. And the zero-turn levers mean you don't even have to shift the transmission to back up. Just pull the levers back. You never stop moving.
Dislikes: I might need more driving experience, but the rear wheels tend to gouge the lawn if I get too radical with zero radius turning. You need to keep both wheels moving and you really need to turn with some radius - not zero. However, you can make a two motion turn (half forward, half reverse) very quickly and easily that is the equivalent of a zero radius turn - without gouging the lawn. Don't really like the throttle and choke. You really can't tell how much choke is applied (pull up on the throttle handle - no scale) and the throttle itself is a bit stiff and hard to set. I like the gas filler and the oil drain (haven't changed the oil yet, but it looks like it should be easy). You have to keep both hands on the levers at all times. You have to stop to scratch your nose.
Overall, I am really happy with the machine. But my checkbook isn't.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A really good machine

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Kenny7
Location: Toledo, OH
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first experience at owning a zero-turn. Had the advantage of barrowing the neighbors Toro Time Saver and seeing the performance of another neighbors monster John Deere. Went shopping at the local equipment store to learn more about Husqvarna. Shop owner listened to my experience and service needs for a mower - Pointed me to the Gravely. Very happy with the decision. Has reduced my mowing time by 70%. The triple blade deck leaves a very nice cut. Solid design and construction.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mows great

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Litchfield County, CT
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After mastering the controls, mowing with my 42" Zero Turn mower is a lot of fun. It cuts faster than my tractor and doesn't miss spots due to tight turns or tire marks. Overall the lawn looks great. This mower works great on flat, dry lawns. I wouldn't recommend it for hilly or sloped areas, or for chronically wet spots.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does a decent job of cutting grass

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Mel
Location: Southern Illinois
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Choke cable end disconnected from handle mechanism, safety wired back in place. Scheduled maintenance items required @ engine hour intervals, no hour meter.
Basically a good running machine, some vibration, need hearing protection.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great residential machine

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
aside from the unusual vibration on engaging the pto...the unit performs as advertised. A feature I like is the ability to disengage each hydraulic drive wheel. It makes the unit easy to maneuver in tight spaces. ie garage!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starting problems

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Kathy
Location: Toronto, Kansas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently (4 weeks) bought a new Gravely, I have mowed 4 times and the last time I mowed it didn't want to start. After checking all the obivious connections, and setting and resetting the brake, and the blade and wiggling it around it finally started. I called the dealer where I bought it and he called in and talked to tech services and they said that they will pay $50 for the repair. I live 26 miles one way from where I bought it. He doesn't want to come and get it then bring it back, and I don't think I should have to take it down there. It has less than 15 hrs on it and I feel that it is your responsibility to pay for all the costs incured in fixing it. This is the second Gravely that that I have purchased and I have recommended your mowers to many people.
I strongly feel that you should pay for the time it takes for a repairman to come here and fix it and then retun to his place. I should not have to pay anything.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Thomas
Omaha Ne
i cant find the price!
Posted June 16, 2012
unlike the other posts i think u are most honest and i wanted to know, the final price, and if it the new one was reliable, i have my own lawn care buissness and i need to upgrade to a new mower i currently have 2 pieces of crud craftmans, 1 honda that is 11 years old and just had its last yard, and also a 17 year old johndeere, and many custmers to attend 2
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to be a well built machine.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob 71
Location: Oklahoma
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have the ZT50. The one thing I don't like about it is even though I bought a mulch kit to go with the machine, when I get through mowing there is a little strip of piled up mowed grass every 100 inches.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Standard in Mowers

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Clyde
Location: Covington, La
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first thing that sold me on my Gravely ZT42 was the brand name 'Gravely'. I have been familiar with Gravely since the mid 1970's and I know they build one-tuff mower. They can handle any job. The old saying "you get what you pay for" is true with the Gravely brand.... You get a great mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad design on cutting deck

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Jerry
Location: Destrehan La.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only problem I have is that the cutting deck sticks out to far on the left. There is no way to see the left side to judge if you are to close to hitting something. If the front wheel was even with the edge of the deck you could use the wheel to judge where the deck edge as. Also the grass shout sticks out to far. It won't take long to tear that thing off. Other than that I think it is a good machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Z34 mower

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: Texas
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am overall satisfied with this product a Z34. It could use more horsepower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ZT 42 outstanding performance and manuverbility

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Al2552
Location: Texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased my ZT 42 with 18.5 Briggs & Statton engine approx. 1 yr ago after comparing several zero turn vs tractor type mowers. I am well pleased with my selection. It is imperative to go SLOW if you are not familiar with this type of mower. After some OJT, the time required to mow my 1 acre lot was reduced 50%. It is excellent manuvering around trees and flower beds. When turning within a confined space, it is very easy to tear up the turf when rotating in the same spot. The engine is more than adequate and does not bog down when mowing tall grass. The height adjustment is quick and easy.
There is a tendency for grass clippings to accumulate under the pulley covers (2) and it is difficult to wash out under the deck. Also would suggest the levers to put the transmission in neutral be painted a BRIGHT COLOR for easier identification.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I think that my 34' mower is the best mower I have ever had.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
David
Location: Melrose Fl.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like my mower and I would like a grass catcher, but I think that they are way to high. You can buy one for a regular mower for about $300.00 but one for my mower is $ 500.00, and I feel that this is to much. Outside of that it is a super mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need better DIY Manual

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Hinesville, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Putting the bagger attachment on the deck is so easy when blocks are put under the deck to hold the underside of the bagger attachment bolts up into the deck. It's not in the manual. Trial & error, and frustration, finally made it easier for me.
Replacement of main drive belt, which seemed so simple in the manual, took a call to tech spt and a few assumptions to finish the job.
On the plus side, even my wife likes the mower since she has learned not to back it into a ditch or try to run it up the flagpole (she made it up to about 45 degrees.
Hard to start during the "winter" here in S. Georgia. Change to lightweight oil before you buy another battery.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

95% satisfied

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Ed
Location: Leesburg Ga
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased a ZT 50 as far as performance I would say it second to none. I have owned other zero turn mower over many years some more costly and some less but my satisfaction is very high. The only problem I have the mulcher attachment could fit a little better and will installing the mulcher top stub on deck snapped while tighting with 3/8 ratchet and not really putting much pressure to it I recommend a stronger stud be used. Other than that it has performed very well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to be a good little mower.

PostedJune 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Steve91
Location: NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Havent put very many hours on mower yet but I like it so far. The bagger must have been designed by another company. Hard to handle and the bracket on the rear of the mower requires that the hitch be removed and the bracked installed every time you use it, very,very, very poor design.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a well-built machine....

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Randy
Location: Cuba, MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The machine seems to be well built, after 2months my ZT50 seems to be humming along. i like the added welded braces & rollers on the stamped deck. (wish i could've spent the extra grand for the welded deck, but couldn't justify it) I mow nearly 2 acres with my house sitting on top of the hill in the center of my property, so i have pretty steep inclines on 3 sides of the property. we have had a wet spring so it makes the ZT kinda squirrelly for a firsttime zt'er...I think the front end could use a little more weight for my situation, but all-in-all....u do need an hour meter and a wash out connection on the deck..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>