Customer reviews for Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Take a good look. By anybody’s standards this machine is well put together. You can up those standards by choosing a machine with the new XLerator™ Deck. This precision cutting system will deliver a landscape appearance that’s up to professional standards.
Overall rating:
4.657 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5
79
4
25
3
1
2
2
1
1
104 out of 108(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gravely ZT Series
Review 21 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall a very powerful mower

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
JIM
Location: Pevely MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm loving the mower.
But I've been having trouble getting support from the local dealer; Bucheit's in Herculaneum MO. I tried to get them to order a mulch kit four weeks ago. They have still yet to get it in and have no idea when it will arrive.
Gravely's customer support site has been great. They told me the exact part number to order and I've bought it off the internet.
The cup holder needs to be on the other side away from the grass discharge chute. The top of the can was covered with small grass clippings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this machine

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Raleigh, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gravely ZT42
Bottom line: My lawn looks really good after being cut with this machine. That is what counts. But the machine is expensive.
Previous problems: My old mower was a 38" Yard Machine tractor style mower. It did not produce an even cut, no matter how much effort I put into leveling the deck. It would not cut in reverse. You had to stop, disengage the PTO, shift to reverse, back up, shift to forward and re-engage the PTO. A royal pain.
My lawn: I have a 1 acre lot, but only about half of it is grass. There are "natural" areas all around the lot borders, with the house more or less in the middle. Nothing is geometrical. You cannot mow in a normal rectangular pattern anywhere. The lot is not level, but the slopes are not too steep. There is a drainage "dip" (shallower than a ditch) along the street. The Yard Machine mower was particularly bad on the slopes and in the "dip".
Performance: The cut is quite level and the lawn looks much better now, even in the "dip" and on the slopes. I almost bought the ZT34 thinking the narrower deck might cut more evenly, but the ZT42 does just fine. The machine cuts in forward and reverse, which makes maneuvering around the odd shapes of my lawn much easier. And the zero-turn levers mean you don't even have to shift the transmission to back up. Just pull the levers back. You never stop moving.
Dislikes: I might need more driving experience, but the rear wheels tend to gouge the lawn if I get too radical with zero radius turning. You need to keep both wheels moving and you really need to turn with some radius - not zero. However, you can make a two motion turn (half forward, half reverse) very quickly and easily that is the equivalent of a zero radius turn - without gouging the lawn. Don't really like the throttle and choke. You really can't tell how much choke is applied (pull up on the throttle handle - no scale) and the throttle itself is a bit stiff and hard to set. I like the gas filler and the oil drain (haven't changed the oil yet, but it looks like it should be easy). You have to keep both hands on the levers at all times. You have to stop to scratch your nose.
Overall, I am really happy with the machine. But my checkbook isn't.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performance

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Sb
Location: WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Professional commercial mower. I use Gravely on the job and decided to buy a ZT50 for my own lawn. Great cut, mower and product for the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A really good machine

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Kenny7
Location: Toledo, OH
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first experience at owning a zero-turn. Had the advantage of barrowing the neighbors Toro Time Saver and seeing the performance of another neighbors monster John Deere. Went shopping at the local equipment store to learn more about Husqvarna. Shop owner listened to my experience and service needs for a mower - Pointed me to the Gravely. Very happy with the decision. Has reduced my mowing time by 70%. The triple blade deck leaves a very nice cut. Solid design and construction.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT 42 is the bomb!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Dellman
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Gravely ZT 42 in Sept. 2012 and I love it. It is very responsive so you will need to pay attention when going to stop or turn. Use slow fluid motions to insure you don't damage grass. If you bring it to a dead spot it will slide the rear wheels. I have used the commercial JD models in the past and it came natural to me. The only thing I would change is the throttle/choke cable assembly. It needs to be made of cast metal to hold up. I just had to replace it but it was very quick and simple. I would recommend this mower to everyone! It cut my cutting time in half with even better results that the JD, Exmark, and Skag that was used when I had to pay to get my lawn cut. LOVE IT!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Got a Gravely

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Geoff
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
After growing up mowing behind a Gravely Model L ever since I could strap start it, I've wanted a late model Gravely mower. Finally in my sixties I've realized my dream. The ZT42 is Gravely's residential mower but next to the Greene and Yellow residential zero turn mower, it looks like a serious commercial mower. The dealer sold the mulching kit for cost and installed it and delivered the mower for no charge. Very pleased with the mower and dealer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts Mow time by 70%!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Piaabro210
Location: Rockledge, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went out looking for a tractor mower but very HAPPY I went with a Gravely Zero-Turn mower. This mower is precise and fast. If you are on the bubble about a mower fret no more you will be very happy with this choice!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Dodgeville, WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mower has performed excellently. The only reason I gave it a three on durability is that it's yet to be seen. It gives a nice even cut, and seems to be really well built. I previously owned one of those blue zero turn mowers the Gravely has far outperformed it so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is so reliable

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Noel
Location: Lamb Island. Australia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I"d have a problem with the zero turn feature of the Gravely but after only one mow I"ve mastered it. The mulcher option is a must. The lawn is clean and neat. I"ve found the Gravely starts first time, every time - even after sitting unused for weeks. Worth every cent!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Larry18
Location: Marietta, Ga
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only feature this mower does not have, is a rear bagger. Otherwise, I don't think you can get a better mower or value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dennis
Mandeville, LA
There Is A Rear Bagger Available
Posted June 28, 2014
Purchased my ZT 42 in August 2012 and it is theist mower I ever purchased. There is a rear bagger available and it works great. I live in a subdivision with many trees and St. Augustine grass in suth Louisiana. The bagger saves me hours of raking in the fall and I also bag in the summer because the St Augustine grass grows very high in one week and I have the deck set at the 4 inch setting. Again this is a very good mower.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 31 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only problem I have experienced is with the deck. The center blade area clogs up with grass if the grass is the least bit damp. Other than this minor irritant, it is a absolutely great mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mows great

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Litchfield County, CT
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After mastering the controls, mowing with my 42" Zero Turn mower is a lot of fun. It cuts faster than my tractor and doesn't miss spots due to tight turns or tire marks. Overall the lawn looks great. This mower works great on flat, dry lawns. I wouldn't recommend it for hilly or sloped areas, or for chronically wet spots.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
ARMANDO
Location: New Windsor, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great machine, finally got rid of my landscape pro's. Finished cutting my grass in record breaking time with my 50" wide cut and is simple to use, but still have to master the zero turning features(no steering wheel). My machine has 24 HP and can go through tall thick grass with no problems like my professional landscape people "ONCE" did. In fact they had the same Grassley Mower with a 54" cut.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
BJ
Location: Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far it does what I bought it for it cuts grass, this the only zero turn mower I have had so I can not compare it to others
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gives a great cut in less time

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Tom
Location: Fremont, Oh
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have only been using my ZT for less than one year, but has become my favorite mower ever (36 years in this home). I also think that it was a good value compared to other zero turns. The dealer was straight forward and have found him to be very helpful with any questions I have.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Larry
Location: Teague, TX
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is a very well built mower. I would recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
James
Location: Marietta,GA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owned a John Deere tractor type mower for 25 years, while it is a good mower my Gravely is a great mower. Mows faster and smoother than anything I have mowed with. Would recommend highly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Lovin It!!

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Rich
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although I have had a couple of Problems with the paint. One of the problem parts was replaced by warranty. Everything else seems to be performing excellently!! Wish I would have bought one of these, long time ago!!! The reason I gave so low of rating on Durability was because of the paint problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower I have ever owned

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Darin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this mower. It cut my mowing time in half. It doesn't have a problem cutting high grass or wet grass. There is a couple problems with the mower. I have the ZT 50 and the throttle cable slash chock cable is a joke. I have had to replace mine already and I only have 16 hours on this unit. There needs to be a separate chock cable. I also can't mow my ditches with this unit. I have to us my tractor style mower. The zero turn mower will slide down the hill were a tractor style won't. Besides that I wouldn't trade this mower for anything. I would recommend a Gravely ZT mower to any one and I have told a lot of people about how great these mowers are.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does a decent job of cutting grass

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Mel
Location: Southern Illinois
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Choke cable end disconnected from handle mechanism, safety wired back in place. Scheduled maintenance items required @ engine hour intervals, no hour meter.
Basically a good running machine, some vibration, need hearing protection.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>