Customer reviews for Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Gravely Gravely ZT Series

Take a good look. By anybody’s standards this machine is well put together. You can up those standards by choosing a machine with the new XLerator™ Deck. This precision cutting system will deliver a landscape appearance that’s up to professional standards.
Overall rating:
4.624 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5
86
4
25
3
1
2
3
1
2
111 out of 117(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gravely ZT Series
Review 21 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best deal!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did TONS of research on all makes and models of zero turns to find the best fit for me. I don't like to buy cheap stuff so I knew I would be spending slightly above the market average to find a nice 42 zero turn. I look at the Deere, Husq, Toro, Hustler and of course the Gravely. I want a well built mower that will last a while and perform as well 5 years down the road as it did the day a bought it. Needless to say I had it narrowed down to the Hustler and Gravely, not much difference in the price, but build quality and warranty the Gravely had it all over the Hustler. The Gravely ZT 42 was closely built to the standards of the Hustler HD, so its a no brainer. With the quality of this mower, Kawasaki 21.5 hp motor, 3 blade deck, comfy seat and many more positives, I bought the Gravely and haven't looked back. Its done amazing work for me and highly recommend it to anyone in the market for a new zero turn!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
chris
pa
was looking at hustler too
Posted June 14, 2015
thanks for your commett I will go to same way you did . thanks for your review
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 22 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disppointed

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my second ZT42. I returned the first one due to issues with skipping grass blades and missing strips. The dealer replaced it and now the replacement is doing the same thing. The problem gets worse with deck height at 3.5 inches. I have tried several suggestions for fixes with first mower and nothing helped.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Setup?
Posted October 17, 2014
Maybe the dealer isn't setting up the deck correctly?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 23 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT34 - Rocks !!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Prairieville, La.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I spent a few weeks researching which ZTR mower I wanted to buy, read reviews, researched websites, test drove mowers, etc. Came down to the Dixon ZTR 30" and the Gravely ZT 34". Both were the same price so it was just a matter of deciding in my own mind which mower gave me more for the money and quality overall. Test drove both mowers but did not cut with either one. Ended up picking the Gravely ZT34 for a few reasons. It was a wider cut but not much wider overall which I liked since I did not want to take up too much room in my garage. Had two blades vs. one blade, more controls, and just seemed to handle better. Bought the mower today and I literally could not stop cutting my grass, cut both my front yard and back 3 times playing with the settings and mowing patterns all still in a shorter time than it normally takes me to mow with my push mower. Cant wait for the grass to grow so I can cut again. Will probably cut my yard at least twice a week now because it so easy. Did not even need to use my push mower afterwards, was able to catch all spots with my ZTR. Finished up with my weed eater. Love the machine and highly recommend it!! Happy Mowing !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well through out design

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Doylestown, PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my ZT 42 for 3 weeks and cut my 1 acre lawn several times. There are many obstacles, I had always used a push mower since a riding tractor really would not save much time. The ZT 42 has cut time by 65%!
It takes some getting used to, to not gouge the lawn, but you definitely will get to the point where you no longer are damaging the grass...no sudden stopping or transitions from forward to reverse on either control.
Mechanical design and serviceability are great. One thing you will notice is that the frame definitely flexes on uneven ground. I assume this is not an issue on the heavier gauge ZT HD model which uses 10 gauge plate instead of 12
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Product, A Few Design/Defect Issues

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: South Yarmouth, MA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the most part, when the mower is working, it's performance is good. However, I have had several issues, first with a choke cable that became disconnected and in process damaged. It took the dealer almost six weeks to get the part and repair the defect. Second, the throttle lever broke, and it's back in the shop, all under warranty, but just inconvenient. I would also mention that the two bag grass catcher accessory design needs some work. For the weight of the catcher frame, the support system, especially with grass filling in not sufficient and I have to keep tightening the hand screws constantly to alleviate the bags "flopping" from side to side putting undo pressure on the supports and the receiver which is screwed to the frame has broken, had to order a new one. I hope Gravely is listening.......
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mower I have ever owned

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Naples fl
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I went with Gravely and purchased from my local dealer Capri Lawn in Naples Fl. I always bought from the box stores. Great to deal with people that have sold lawn equipment for 30 years. For a mower from the lower end of thre Gravely line this thing is solid. Hope to have for many years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy mower

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Amo,In
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this mower last fall and only used it twice then, have used it all summer and it has preformed great. I am very happy i bought this mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a headache.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nothing but problems from our Gravely. It's only 3 years old! When we have put it in the shop at the Gravely dealer, it has consistently come home with bigger problems than it had when we took it in. No mystery there.
I truly regret buying a Gravely and will not repeat this mistake.
With the cost of parts, it is not cost effective to even repair it. I actually wouldn't have even rated it 1 Star, but I had to put in something.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT34 mower

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: columbus, indiana
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased a ZT34 used it for the first time, it took a little time to get the feel of it, it fit my need quite well, the best one for the money, i wish i had purchased the ZT42 for it has high back seat and the water hook up i recommend it to anyone. a very nice machine. GO GRAVELY
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall a very powerful mower

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pevely MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm loving the mower.
But I've been having trouble getting support from the local dealer; Bucheit's in Herculaneum MO. I tried to get them to order a mulch kit four weeks ago. They have still yet to get it in and have no idea when it will arrive.
Gravely's customer support site has been great. They told me the exact part number to order and I've bought it off the internet.
The cup holder needs to be on the other side away from the grass discharge chute. The top of the can was covered with small grass clippings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this machine

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gravely ZT42
Bottom line: My lawn looks really good after being cut with this machine. That is what counts. But the machine is expensive.
Previous problems: My old mower was a 38" Yard Machine tractor style mower. It did not produce an even cut, no matter how much effort I put into leveling the deck. It would not cut in reverse. You had to stop, disengage the PTO, shift to reverse, back up, shift to forward and re-engage the PTO. A royal pain.
My lawn: I have a 1 acre lot, but only about half of it is grass. There are "natural" areas all around the lot borders, with the house more or less in the middle. Nothing is geometrical. You cannot mow in a normal rectangular pattern anywhere. The lot is not level, but the slopes are not too steep. There is a drainage "dip" (shallower than a ditch) along the street. The Yard Machine mower was particularly bad on the slopes and in the "dip".
Performance: The cut is quite level and the lawn looks much better now, even in the "dip" and on the slopes. I almost bought the ZT34 thinking the narrower deck might cut more evenly, but the ZT42 does just fine. The machine cuts in forward and reverse, which makes maneuvering around the odd shapes of my lawn much easier. And the zero-turn levers mean you don't even have to shift the transmission to back up. Just pull the levers back. You never stop moving.
Dislikes: I might need more driving experience, but the rear wheels tend to gouge the lawn if I get too radical with zero radius turning. You need to keep both wheels moving and you really need to turn with some radius - not zero. However, you can make a two motion turn (half forward, half reverse) very quickly and easily that is the equivalent of a zero radius turn - without gouging the lawn. Don't really like the throttle and choke. You really can't tell how much choke is applied (pull up on the throttle handle - no scale) and the throttle itself is a bit stiff and hard to set. I like the gas filler and the oil drain (haven't changed the oil yet, but it looks like it should be easy). You have to keep both hands on the levers at all times. You have to stop to scratch your nose.
Overall, I am really happy with the machine. But my checkbook isn't.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performance

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Professional commercial mower. I use Gravely on the job and decided to buy a ZT50 for my own lawn. Great cut, mower and product for the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A really good machine

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Toledo, OH
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first experience at owning a zero-turn. Had the advantage of barrowing the neighbors Toro Time Saver and seeing the performance of another neighbors monster John Deere. Went shopping at the local equipment store to learn more about Husqvarna. Shop owner listened to my experience and service needs for a mower - Pointed me to the Gravely. Very happy with the decision. Has reduced my mowing time by 70%. The triple blade deck leaves a very nice cut. Solid design and construction.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT 42 is the bomb!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Gravely ZT 42 in Sept. 2012 and I love it. It is very responsive so you will need to pay attention when going to stop or turn. Use slow fluid motions to insure you don't damage grass. If you bring it to a dead spot it will slide the rear wheels. I have used the commercial JD models in the past and it came natural to me. The only thing I would change is the throttle/choke cable assembly. It needs to be made of cast metal to hold up. I just had to replace it but it was very quick and simple. I would recommend this mower to everyone! It cut my cutting time in half with even better results that the JD, Exmark, and Skag that was used when I had to pay to get my lawn cut. LOVE IT!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Got a Gravely

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
After growing up mowing behind a Gravely Model L ever since I could strap start it, I've wanted a late model Gravely mower. Finally in my sixties I've realized my dream. The ZT42 is Gravely's residential mower but next to the Greene and Yellow residential zero turn mower, it looks like a serious commercial mower. The dealer sold the mulching kit for cost and installed it and delivered the mower for no charge. Very pleased with the mower and dealer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts Mow time by 70%!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rockledge, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went out looking for a tractor mower but very HAPPY I went with a Gravely Zero-Turn mower. This mower is precise and fast. If you are on the bubble about a mower fret no more you will be very happy with this choice!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Dodgeville, WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mower has performed excellently. The only reason I gave it a three on durability is that it's yet to be seen. It gives a nice even cut, and seems to be really well built. I previously owned one of those blue zero turn mowers the Gravely has far outperformed it so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is so reliable

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lamb Island. Australia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I"d have a problem with the zero turn feature of the Gravely but after only one mow I"ve mastered it. The mulcher option is a must. The lawn is clean and neat. I"ve found the Gravely starts first time, every time - even after sitting unused for weeks. Worth every cent!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Marietta, Ga
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only feature this mower does not have, is a rear bagger. Otherwise, I don't think you can get a better mower or value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dennis
Mandeville, LA
There Is A Rear Bagger Available
Posted June 28, 2014
Purchased my ZT 42 in August 2012 and it is theist mower I ever purchased. There is a rear bagger available and it works great. I live in a subdivision with many trees and St. Augustine grass in suth Louisiana. The bagger saves me hours of raking in the fall and I also bag in the summer because the St Augustine grass grows very high in one week and I have the deck set at the 4 inch setting. Again this is a very good mower.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 40 for Gravely ZT Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only problem I have experienced is with the deck. The center blade area clogs up with grass if the grass is the least bit damp. Other than this minor irritant, it is a absolutely great mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>