Customer reviews for Gravely Gravely ZT HD Series

Gravely Gravely ZT HD Series

There are many professionals that work this machine everyday. Take a closer look. Take a test ride. It won’t take you long to find out what professionals already know. Nothing else quite measures up to a Gravely.
Overall rating:
4.766 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5
119
4
17
3
1
2
2
1
2
136 out of 141(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gravely ZT HD Series
Review 1 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice entry level commercial mower

PostedMay 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the money it is a very well rounded machine. Could use the articulating front end like the larger models. But remember this thing only mows grass. If you are on the edge of zero turn or garden tractor buy the tractor. I should have.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Understated Elegance

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Jon
Location: TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently traded my very overrated Major Name Brand tractor for an HD60. And I could not be happier. Build quality is impressive. Everything seems engineered to be tough and reliable down the road. Speed and maneuverability are outstanding. I'll try to update more as I get more hours on it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine has no lack of power.

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Tom
Location: Oxford PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently bought a 48 HD. The dealer was excellent to work with and asnswered all my questions and talked my wife into letting me spend the extra on the hd instead of the XL. This machine has power to spare even in very thick damp grass, the cut was clean and consistent. The location of the controls and features are easy to get used to and this mower is an absolute pleasure to run. It cut my normal mowing time by at least 50%. I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for an excellent mower built to last for years of mowing in comfort without having to worry about some cheaply designed or built part failing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
john
rising sun
which dealer
Posted October 26, 2012
i would like to know which dealer you bought from. I went to Hockenssin in De and I have Duvall's in Risisng Sun. Im looking into the Hd 52". please let me know what you think
Thanks,
John
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome mower!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Matt
Location: Conway, AR
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a ZT48HD about 2.5 months ago and couldn't be happier with it. Have 21 hours on it so far and look forward to putting many more on it. Can't hardly bog this mower down, and always cuts perfect at any speed, even in relatively tall and thick grass. Cuts mowing time down so much you wouldn't believe. What used to take me an hour and a half now takes about 20 minutes. Extra sturdy and durable construction. Dealer service is excellent. Always friendly and honest. I compared similar eXmark and Kubota mowers, and the Gravely ZT48HD is by far more bang for the buck than I could find anywhere else. I had a zero turn Toro before this mower, and could feel the frame of it flex with varying terrain. Not the case with the Gravely, as it is built very strong. Easy to see the quality difference. Thanks, Gravely, for an awesome mowing machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZD48. a great mower

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Bobby
Location: Ontario Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ZT48 provides an excellent quality of cut and seems to have more than enough hp to handle any condition I have encountered.
Oil and filter changes are a littly trickey due to the filter and drain plug location....A well engineered machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good heavy built mower

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Eric
Location: Millboro, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first ZTR mower so I can't really compare with other mowers. I did a lot of research and looked at a lot of other mowers before purchasing this one. The Gravely had a heavier and better build quality than any other mowers I looked at in this price range. I have been very satisfied with the ease and speed of mowing. I mow about 5 acres and it used to be an all day job. Now I can get done in about 3 1/2 hours and I actually don't mind having to mow. The only complaint that I have is the oil filter placement. It's not easy to get to and makes a mess because there is no where for the oil in the filter to run to other than on the lower frame. This is mainly a convenience issue and really doesn't take away from everything else about this mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Machine ..... Some Minor Issues

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Edward
Location: Orange Village, Ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall I have had a pretty good experience with my Gravely 60 inch Zero Turn mower. The last two months we have had about 14 inches of rain and the machine seems up to the task of attacking the jungle now that we are finally drying out. In general it allows me to cut about 4 1/2 acres in a reasonable amount of time.
The problems that I have experienced seem to be unusual flaws. One spindle shaft was improperly made and allowed for travel around the keyed portion of the shaft. Once the parts were received it was a pretty quick task of swapping it out. The other issue is that the maintainance timer does not seem to retain the oil change records. Several times I have had to re-reset the oil change due indicator even though the changes were done on a timely basis. The biggest issue is that warranty work is difficult to receive if unit was purchased elsewhere and moved with the owner. Thankfully, not much has been required while under warranty.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with my HD48

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
James
Location: Collins, Ms.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built heavy duty. Easy to learn to operate. Powerful 24 HP Kawasaki engine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is my 3rd Summer - does very well

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Jeanie
Location: Hewitt, TX
User submitted photo
No problems - I'm 63 and I go slow, but my son does it fast, but that's okay but I wish he would mow my yard instead of me haha
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun to run!!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Folsom, LA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my ZT 52"HD fo a couple of months so I can't really comment on the durability aspect.
We've been going through a severe drought here in South East Louisiana so the grass hasn't been growing as it usually does. I just reached 8 hours on the machine for the first oil change.
It used to take me a full 5 hours to mow my place with 42" riding mower. I now knock it out in just less than 2 hours and the place looks like a golf course when finished.
I don't dread the mowing chore like I used to. In fact, I look forward to the drought ending to spend more time on the machine. It's easy to use and FUN to RUN.!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid machine

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
steve
Location: colgate,wi.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Went from 2.5 hours on my 44 inch deck tractor to under 1 hour on the hd52.The cut looks just as nice as my simplicity which is famous for its
cut.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best decision that I have ever made!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Rick
Location: Southeast,NC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply put , the best mower that I have ever owned.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower, only added one modification

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: Magnolia, TX
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After two attempts at buying a new mower, first one had water in oil and second was used with the hour meter disconnected, third time was a charm. Couldn't be happier. Haven't put many hours on it but it is super responsive and powerful. I did change the air filter to a canister type as I kick up a lot of dust and the canister double filter will protect the engine better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This ZTR is a great value for the money!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Ronnie M
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a ZT HD 52 in summer of 2010 for our primary home. It has cut our grass cutting time in half and my son loves it so much that I cannot get to use it much. I Liked the product so much that I purchased a ZT HD 60 for our second home. The only improvement I recoomend is larger rear tires to help with cutting on slopes and hilly areas. Both mowers have developed a high pitch squeeling noise which is somewhat annoying and I'm having a hard time pin pointing the source.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jim S.
Byram, MS
Noise
Posted September 13, 2011
Could be a bearing or idle pulley. Take them in for a check up. Remember both units are under warranty fo three years.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT HD 48

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Gary
Location: Millington, TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought HD 48 last summer when I moved into a house that had a 2.25 acre lot. Although I only have 17 hours on the mower, it has performed as advertised, AWESOME. I debated on getting a Gravely or Exmark and after talking to some friends who had both, my decision was easy. I'm not putting down Exmark, but I went to the Exmark dealer and the Gravely dealer and asked alot of questions. Hands down I am very happy with my Gravely ZT HD 48.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
CINDY
Location: OHIO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it, easy to operate. I am so happy that I can tell everyone that it's made in USA.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2008 Gravely 26 HP 60 HD

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Ken
Location: Edgeley ND
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good mower. Has approx 117 hours, no issues with mechanical. The only issue I have with the machine is while turning left. The mower acts like there is not enough wieght and the tire just spins in the grass. Also, when I purchased the mower, I checked prices on Grasshoppers, Dixon, Dixie Chopper, etc, etc, none compared to the price of my Gravely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great mower with a lot of power and speed.

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
A.
Location: Millington, TN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have enjoyed our mower very much. Easy to use and operate. Great speed and power. I do think it was rather expensive, though (over $6,000). Because of this price, I think that a better seat could have been installed as standard equipment that had more cushion to adjust for a bumpy yard. Also, because of the location of the oil filter and drain, we found it impossible to change the oil at home and had to have it professionally done. This proved very expensive since we had to rent a trailer to haul it to the shop and rent a trailer again to pick it up and bring it home. Overall, though, a very good mower which I would buy again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality built, best decision I have made in a while.

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Troy
Location: Columbia, Tn
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luck or fate directed me to the local Gravely dealer, I was actually going to buy another brand of mower from another dealer, when I arrived they told me they were out of stock, on my way back home i just happened to notice the gravely dealer, stopped in, talked to the sales man, and am very happy I paid a little bit more. The quality and durability of the machine are second to none. I actually look forward to mowing the yard now and wish I had a bigger yard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product & Top notch Quality

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Max52
Location: Clinton IL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the HD60 with a 26HP engine. I have a steep grade in front of my home and the mower does a great job and does not have an problems powering up the hill. The mower also seems to have good fuel economy as well. Overall the design is very thoughtful and looks like it will last a long time. If you are considering this mower go ahead and buy it you will not be dissapointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>