Customer reviews for Gravely Gravely ZT HD Series

Gravely Gravely ZT HD Series

There are many professionals that work this machine everyday. Take a closer look. Take a test ride. It won’t take you long to find out what professionals already know. Nothing else quite measures up to a Gravely.
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 149 reviews
5
126
4
18
3
1
2
2
1
2
144 out of 149(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gravely ZT HD Series
Review 21 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Mower!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Prattville, AL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased the Gravely ZT HD 52" with the Kawasaki motor and I could not be happier with the product. It mows great and it feels heavy duty. With proper care and maintenance I believe I will own this lawn mower for many years to come!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value on the market !!!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: St Clair County, AL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just mowed my yard for the first time this season. Fired up my Gravely ZT HD 52, hour meter now sits on 19.5 hrs. Decided on this model midway through last summer after some pretty thorough research of at least 6 different brands and multiple models. The only experience I had using a zero turn was on my father's Gravely Pro Turn 260, so although I maintain significantly less acreage, my standards were admittedly high as I began my search. From the Kawasaki engine and hefty transaxles to the fabricated deck, cast iron spindles, and beefy frame, the ZT HD series was much more machine than I was shopping for initially. But, after weighing the cost versus the expected performance and service life, this machine is proved to be the best value on the market for the serious homeowner that wants to INVEST in a piece of equipment rather than just buy a lawn mower. If you have used or test driven the run-of-the-mill consumer zero turn, you better hang on! This mower compares with most entry level commercial mowers I have seen but at a significantly lower cost. I currently maintain about 2.5 acres of rural property (not manicured turf) and share the lawn care duties at our church. The other guy that cares for the church property also has a Gravely- I believe it is a standard ZT series- and for his needs is equally impressed with its quality and performance. I truly believe this is the best value on the market and the wisest equipment purchase I have ever made. Thank you Gravely!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lawnmower Ever!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Sumter, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my Gravely ZT HD 48" cut in October 2012. I wanted to try it first before writing a review. The mower is well built and durable. I cut approximately 4 acres each week. (My 1.5 and my mothers 2.5) I have pruchased john deere and cub cadet mowers in the past. The Gravely beats them all. Extremely satisfied.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new but great so far

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: west texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
went from a snapper z-rider to a zt hd 44 inch gravely. like going from a model a ford to a new Raptor. much smoother cut and a lot faster. probably will add a mulcher later. transmissions are super smooth and steering is very low effort. does not seem to spin the inside tire as much at the snapper did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5.2 acres, 48 mature trees + Gravely ZTHD 60" = Perfection

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Clayton, Indiana
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the ZTHD 60" in late July, 2013. I've now got 48 hours on this mower with zero issues. Ive changed the oil and sharpened the blades twice. I installed a DIY rear hitch and haul around a 15 yard lawn cart. I've had that cart 3/4 full of #8 gravel multiple times with no problems from the machine or the Kawasaki engine. It will definitly pull some weight with no issues. I researched for months prior to purchasing this ZTHD, and after almost one year with this machine I have NO regrets. Highly recommend............
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I told her I needed a bigger mower

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my first Gravely in 06, a ZT. My only 'complaint' to my wife was that I needed a bigger one, to which I got the eye-roll. When it was finally time to upgrade last year, I was surprised to see Gravely had split the ZT line. Wasn't sure about upgrading to the HD, but 0% financing made it a no brainer and I'm certainly glad I did.
Not having gate limit issues I selected the 60" (my original was 42") Had to wait a day or two to pickup and my wife reminded me of all of the extra weedeating I would have to do, not able to get that large deck everywhere I could with the 42". I need not have worried. Because the deck extends past the chassis, I can reach places I couldn't with the 42". The deck is curved on the left rear corner, and you won't realize how genius this is until you mow with it and realize you can put the blades just about anywhere.
Mower has good speed and feels like a commercial mower at a high-end residential price. I elected to get a mulching kit, and wasn't sure about it at first, but like it now. You just have to commit to always keeping the yard at a reasonable height. If you are a procrastinator, skip the mulch as you'll have to mow twice. If you're a regular mower, the mulch kit is a nice touch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made the right decision

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Zachary, LA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I only have 150 hours on my Gravely ZT HD48 but it is performing just like it was brand new. I have been using it not only to mow but to pull a landscape cart to haul loads around my place. It is a pleasure each time I climb on and cut my place. The cut makes the entire place look like a golf course. I think with normal maintenance that it will last for a long time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have gotten the 60 inch deck

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Winchester, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my ZTHD 52 September of 2013 and didn't write a review until I could see how the mower performed. Before I purchased the mower I shopped around and the Gravely mower just always looked like the better machine. After using this mower for almost 2 years I could not be happier. The two acres I mow has a lot of trees and flower beds and I have been able to reduce my mowing time by a third. There is plenty of power even when I mow grass that has not been mowed in a while. My neighbor liked it so much he got rid of his troy bilt zero turn and bought a gravely. Only problem I have is that I wish I would have gotten the 60 inch deck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a diffference to cut the grass!!

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Southwest Pa.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased ZTHD 48. This thing is awesome.. What a difference over my prior machine John Deere. I actually look forward to cutting the grass now!! Plenty of power KAWASAKI and a good clean cut.
Purchased from Rays Lawnmower Sales in PA. Great dealer..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: North Texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the ZT HD Zero turn mower July 2013 to mow two acres. It takes approximately an hour to do which has cut my mowing by three hours. Love this machine and would reccommend to any one with small residental acreage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a grass hog!!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been mowing with a Dixon Ram 44 for a couple years now, made the switch to a Gravely ZT HD 52 and couldn't be happier!!!! I mow 4 acres and with the Dixon I would spend 2-3 nights a week and sometimes Saturday to accomplish this task. I mowed the whole place in an hour and a half yesterday with the Gravely! Now I have more time to spend with the family and I have my Saturdays back! Only thing I could say that I was a little disappointed with is the "optional equipment" that's not included, the suspension seat and the lights are things that are probably better suited to the standard equipment category. Overall it's a great product at a great price point!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great mower for the buck

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I brought this mower 3 years ago, only problem I ever had with it is the slinored switch. I needed a mower that would cut about an acre yard in less than my old mower. Boy, did I get a mower, I tell I got one and proud of it. I 'm thinking about up grading to the pro 148. Other than that it's a great mower. I do recommend this mower to any buyer that wants a good mower. I highly recommend Gravely to any one, thanks Gravely for a job well done!!!!! Excuse the spilling
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Decatur
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Have only had mower for a short time but has made mowing not a chore anymore, went from a 60” lawn tractor to a 60” ZTHD and cut my time in more than half to cut my 3 acre lot. Well worth the $$ still asking why I waited so long to buy one. One more think I had other mowing and this uses less fuel then any of the other per HOUR it is great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every penny

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Arkansas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mow commercially, and bought a ZT 60 HD because of a very good deal from a lady that said it was to big for her, so I bought it.This mower really suprised me, I didnt think anything would be comparable to a hustler, but I have to say this mower hangs right with a hustler super Z on all accounts except the speed, the hustler super Z is definately faster, but as far as cutting, and performance its right on par with the super z. I have had it 3 yrs now, and have only had to replace the battery, and the belt tensioner, and believe me, I have mowed some things that was meant for a bush hog. I change the oil every 50 hours, keep the air filter clean, and blades sharp.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Hanover, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the ZT HD 52 this past year and my wife is getting tired of me talking about it. The machine runs great and has great control.
Formerly I hated mowing the yard but with this machine I enjoy it. It greatly reduces the amount of trimming that has to be performed due to the tight turning ability. The Kawasaki engine does great and even cuts up limbs after storms without bogging down. This machine is made for flat land, which luckily I have.
The only issue I have with my yard is my yard retains a lot of water, which makes it difficult not to tear up the yard given the weight of the mower. So I wait until the yard is dry. Also it slides down into my ditch along the road when it is extremely wet.
The other issue I had was uneven mowing, but after investigating I had a chain link that holds the deck turned sideways, after putting it back the right way it took care of the issue, operator error.
So for flat land I highly recommend this mower, but not for hills or really wet areas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZT HD 60"

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Greer,S.C.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own the ZT HD Model #991084 ; Purchased 3-18-2011 from Owens Landscaping 409 Union Blvd. Union, S.C. 29379.Price was reasonable but not Cheap.You get what you pay for! I cut about 5 acres of grass and weeds in about 3 hours on about 1 of my 2 tanks of gas(3.6 Gallons).That's less gas than my Old Cub 50" with the smaller Briggs Engine ,Although it was a Good Mower also but not as Good as the Gravely.The Gravely is very durable(Heavy Duty)to say the least.The Kawasaki engine would be hard to compare to.I run the SAE 30 or SAE 40 engine oil in all my Mowers and works Great and never Low on oil.I run full throttle(Governed), as recommended by Small engine repair shops to reduce load on the engine.Has worked for years with keeping Mowers clean as well,and needing no repairs,Just Change the Oil when it gets dark in Color and keep on Mowing!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased with how it helps me with my yard work

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had friends that used the Gravely mowers - they were pleased - and I have been pleased also - features work well with what I need a mower to do - easy to recommend
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Differance!!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Elma, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If your reading reviews to convince yourself to buy a ZT/HD or any other fine Gravely Product , my answer is "Do it" you won't be disappointed. Like you I checked out the review's cause I had a 50" Garden Tractor and it was taking forever to cut a little over 2 acres.
I bought the ZT/HD 52 and Wow, What a Difference!!! In time and fun!!! I actually loved cutting my lawn; in fact I don't have enough lawn to cut.The response with the levers is just fantastic , I can't say enough about it.
If your thinkin about a zero turn vs lawn tractor ...nothing compares to the Gravely ZT on a moderate budget for you the Homeowner, don't have to be a landscaper to own one of these . You'll Love it!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Greenville, MI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went to our local dealership that carried many brands of zero turns with the thought of purchasing a John Deere. I own many John Deere tractors so I wanted the same brand as what we have on the farm. After talking to a salesman he wanted me to look at a Gravely. I hesitated but thought why not. I was able to take a demo model home for a day and mow my lawn. I went back with the mower and told the salesman to get paperwork started and I wanted one. I bought the ZTHD with a 52" deck. I have had it now for 3 weeks and do not regret purchasing it at all. The price was excellent!!! It has the Kawasaki engine which was quite a price upgrade when comparing it to the John Deere, and the deck is fabricated, not stamped like the John Deere residential models are. Heavier transmissions then the Deere too. I also bought the power bagger and hitch with the unit. The bagger works great. Very happy with my decision.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Gravely ZT HD Series
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best mower i ever owned

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: rainsville,al
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my zt 52 hd has made mowing fun I mow the neighbors yard every chsnce I get
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>